Employee Feature: Brian Cowan

ImageThis week, we’re excited to introduce you to Brian Cowan, one of our trainers.

Age: 30

 

How long have you been at Caltronics?

About 3 years.

Why did you join Caltronics?
I like the mix of technology, customer interaction, and travel/change of scenery that the Training position offers. Upon my first visit to the office, I also immediately enjoyed the people that work at Caltronics. Everyone that I met seemed to have a great attitude. As a smallish company, it was exciting to see that everyone actively contributed to the company’s success.
What’s the best thing about working at Caltronics?
As a trainer, I think the best aspect of working at Caltronics is definitely the company’s unique ability to provide services to all types of businesses and organizations. Because our products and services can be beneficial to a seemingly unending array of companies, I find myself teaching product functionality to a wide variety of clients. I can be teaching police officers one hour and be standing in front of a group of nuns the next hour. Another day, you may find me at a construction site before lunch and on the 18th floor of a high-rise working with the architects and engineers after lunch.
 
Where did you work before Caltronics?
Before Caltronics, I was working in a hospital as a nurse’s aide on the Step-Down/Bariatric unit in West Virginia.
 
Where did you go to college and what did you study?
I went to UC Davis and studied Exercise Biology with a focus on Physiology.

Do you play any sports? Tell us about them.
I love to play pick-up games of any sort! It’s just fun to get in the sun and play around. It helps me to release a lot of the everyday stresses and pressures of the world. I played football at my bay area high school and rugby in college at UC Davis. I received the Most Valuable Player Award for the B-side rugby team in Davis. Once I learned the rules of rugby it was a whole lotta fun. I played loose forward, which is like a the utility player in rugby. Loose forwards pretty much follow the ball everywhere it goes tackling, rucking (aka knocking the other team away from the ball), kicking, and passing. After games, both teams would get together to eat, drink, and have a good time. Any sport or activity, period, that allows for that level of camaraderie is great for humanity.

What do you love to do in your spare time?
I like to visit friends and family. Play video games, of course. I also immensely enjoy nature and I try to get outside as much as possible.

What might a co-worker be surprised to know about you?

I used to play the tuba and sousaphone for years as a kid and in high school. The marching band was awesome!
Leave a Reply

