Employee Feature: Bryson Grant

Image

Bryson Grant, a sales rep at our headquarters in Sacramento, recently completed the Vineman, theoldest independent full distance triathlon held in the continental United States. Vineman athletes swim 2.4 miles, bike 112 miles and run 26.2 miles through Sonoma County’s beautiful wine country.

Bryson shared a little about his experience training and completing this incredible race, and about working at Caltronics with us. You can connect with him on LinkedIn here.

Name: Bryson Grant
Age: 24

You just completed the Vineman (congrats!). How did you prepare for such a grueling race?

I signed up for the Vineman Iron Man 8 months ago so there was plenty of time to prepare. Swimming was new to me, I haven’t swam long distances in the past so it was very difficult at first but after a few months it became easier and more natural. I would do most of my trainings on the weekends with long runs and long rides as they take up lots of time. During the week I would do my best to get swims and shorter runs in. I also would play soccer a couple days a week to mix things up. To prepare mentally I sought advice of one of my mentor’s  who has done a Ironman and had a ton of great and necessary information for me.

Had you ever done anything like the Vineman before?

I have done numerous Century (100mile) bike rides, completed the CA International Marathon in 2011 and have done a handful of half marathons.

What was your experience like during the race? How long did it take you to finish?

It was a very rewarding experience, each checkpoint was a milestone and had its own personal reward, it kept me motivated to press on. It was a constant mental battle to keep the wheels turning, there was 5 or 6 times where I wanted to quit but I was able to push through and get a second…third…fourth..etc wind. What made the biggest difference was the numerous volunteers offering encouragement and serving at the water/aid stations. The weather being remarkably cool was another bonus, with a high of 78 degrees I was very blessed previous years it had been 90+ degrees.

It took me a total of 15 hours and 33 minutes to complete.

What made you want to do the Vineman?

In college I got into long distance running and cycling, my junior year I was looking up triathlons and came across the Vineman Ironman in Sonoma, from that point it was on my ‘bucket list’, my personal goal was to complete a Ironman before I turned 25.

Would you do it again? What would you do differently?

I would do another Ironman, I would spend more time on the bike training and also work out a better nutrition plan. My goal would be to finish in a better time, ideally sub 13 hours.

ImageIs there anything you learned during your experience that you can apply to work?

I think the whole experience is applicable to work and life.

My mentor pointed out to me a couple days before the event, “you are 90% done already, the last 10% is the actual race” meaning all the work I had put into training and preparing myself, mentally, physically, emotionally was the vast majority. The actual race portion was a fraction of what I had already achieved.

That is 100% applicable to work, things don’t happen overnight, it is a process and 90% of the work needs to be done before a sale or contract can be put in place and it takes the necessary preparations in order to achieve the last 10%.

When it is all said and done, I think it is about the journey and preparations to achieve the goal, my experience with the Ironman reinforced that concept.

How long have you been at Caltronics?
A year and a half.

Why did you join Caltronics?
Many different reasons why I joined Caltronics, the primary being: I love the fact that Caltronics is a family owned company with family values, has a great corporate culture, and also the necessary resources to be successful.

What’s the best thing about working at Caltronics?
The people. It is a great team of talented hardworking individuals that give 100% everyday, it’s a very positive and unique environment that I enjoy being a part of. The work ethic, experience, character, and knowledge of the employees reflect why Caltronics is so successful.

Where did you work before Caltronics?
I was coaching JV Soccer and assistant coaching with Varsity Volleyball at my high school before being hired at Caltronics.

Where did you go to college and what did you study?

I went to Azusa Pacific University and studied Psychology and Business Admin.

Do you play any sports?
I played soccer and volleyball for Capital Christian High School, and played Club Volleyball for Azusa Pacific.

Both are great sports and I was very fortunate to represent my college in volleyball.

There is no better feeling than scoring a game winning goal or well stuck hit on the volleyball court.

What do you love to do in your spare time?
In my spare time I love to exercise, play soccer, spend time with family and friends and I am a soccer coach for my old club as well.

What might a co-worker be surprised to know about you?

I was born and raised here in Sacramento and both of my parents are from Texas.

Out of respect for their Texas roots my parents decided to name my two older brothers and I after cities in Texas.

You can see all our names on a map of Texas: Tyler, Marshall, and Bryson.

Leave a Reply

